PDA

View Full Version : Secular music

Tricia
03-16-02, 08:33 PM
Here's a question I want to get an opinion on:

Do you think it's ok to listen to secular music?

If not, why?

If so, what bands do you limit yourself to?

Do you limit yourself to any band?

Personally, I have no taste whatsoever for nonChristian bands (or bands that say they are Christians but don't sing Christian lyrics).

VG8XP80
03-18-02, 12:13 AM
I doubtlessly listen to more secular music than I do Christian music. I am a musician, producer, arranger, performer; if I waited for Christian music to catch up, I'd be a year behind everything. Secular music is usually the innovator, and Christian music tries franticly to catch up. I have a sizable Christian collection, but it is probably a third as big as my secular.

I enjoy country music. So, if I were limited to Christian country, guess how many different artists I'd have. I could probably count them on my fingers and have a couple to spare. I love jazz. Since most jazz is instrumental, I don't suppose it is either secular or Christian, though I've always thought about it as secular. I love cultural sounds. That's hard enough to find as is, without looking for Christian music that incorporates a lot of that.

Worst of all, I perform secular music. The CD I'm currently working on will include roughly half secular country and half ministry songs. If that's not breaking the mold.... It seems to me that God is interested in reaching lost people. I fully expect my secular songs to be successful, so that when people by my CD on that merit, they'll also receive a dose of ministry. It's time to bring down the barriers, not put them up.

Candice
03-18-02, 12:49 AM
*opens mouth then decides she doesn't have enough time tonight to start this*

*leaves thread alone for now*

VG8XP80
03-18-02, 04:43 AM