PDA

View Full Version : Need Advice to keep the rope from breaking...

LVV
12-27-01, 05:10 AM
Dear Friends,

Christmas was not joyous in the holiday sense of the word here...not even a wish for a Merry Christmas or a card....and so endeth my pity party....it was joyous for the reason for the season in my heart, but it was hard to stay buoyant...

As I had no money, I made a stocking for my fiance' and filled it with my treasures...things I have had for so so long that meant so much to me....as a way of sharing myself and what is mine with him.....one of those things was a very small bible/prayer book that I got when I was 6 years old when I made my First Holy Communion. That book is so worn and tattered and has followed me to all ends of the earth....he refused it....said he couldn't accept it....but he accepted the other things in it like the pen I got when I graduated from medical school...and the most treasured picture I have of my children.....and I made a handwritten book of my favorite poems....

Later last night, we got into a rather philosophical discussion about religion.....it is so apparent to me he is being attacked and struggling with his faith....while not blasphemous, he does believe in Jesus but has serious doubts about the bible and what it espouses...he came after me with a vengeance about my Catholicsm as I went to convent school and am a practicing Catholic....however, as it has been since I was a teenager, I don't accept some of the dogma and doctrines of the Catholic church for which I can find no biblical concordance....the Church has been good to me for fellowship, peaceful place to worship, and I've found parishes that weren't the typical idea of Catholic churches in that they had an evanglical bent and welcomed all regardless of faith or belief....